Land Bank Program Inventory and Price List (Select Marketable Rights)

November 1, 2018

TYPE OF RIGHTJURISDICTIONAVAILABLE INVENTORYPRICE
(Per unit)
Potential Residential Unit of UseEl Dorado County12 Units$1,500
Placer County2 Units$5,000
  • Eligibility is dependent upon the receiver parcel’s project type, location, and Bailey score. (See also Chapters 21, 31, 50, 51.) Please call 530-542-5580 to discuss specific project needs.
  • Pursuant to Government Code section 66907.8, the Conservancy may sell any real property interest to fulfill the purposes of its enabling legislation and to promote the State’s planning priorities.

Sale Requirements

A limited supply of rights is for sale by the California Tahoe Conservancy’s Land Bank Program on the California side of the Lake Tahoe Basin.

Sale Prices

Posted sale prices are valid through March 1, 2019. Sale price is secured and agreed upon at the time a Purchase and Sale Agreement is signed.

Fees

  • Applicant must submit with the complete application package:
    • $800 administrative transaction fee by check or money order made payable to the California Tahoe Conservancy;
  • After Conservancy Staff review, applicant will submit to open escrow:
    • Signed Purchase and Sale Agreement and Joint Escrow Instructions;
    • Choice of either: a 25% total purchase price deposit, or the full purchase; and
    • $200 escrow fee per right. (Up to and including transactions totaling $150,000. If the transaction exceeds $150,000, additional fees may apply. This escrow fee is non-refundable if Buyer does not meet certain escrow terms.)

California Environmental Quality Act Fee

The Conservancy must have a complete application to evaluate the project under California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). Find more information regarding CEQA.

Pursuant to CEQA, the Conservancy is required to individually evaluate whether a project will cause a direct physical change in the environment or a reasonably foreseeable indirect change in the environment, and to avoid or mitigate those impacts. Your project may be exempt, or could require the preparation and approval of an environmental document (EIR, MND, or ND). Even if your project is exempt under CEQA, certain activities may require additional environmental review. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 14, § 15300.2.)

The Conservancy Board must take an action if a project requires an environmental document. The Conservancy holds Board meetings as needed, four to six times per year. Please allow an additional three to five months to complete this type of transaction. As mentioned above, the buyer shall pay a $2,500 fee for transactions requiring an environmental document, made payable to the California Tahoe Conservancy, in addition to the above-referenced standard administrative transaction fee.

Purchase Eligibility / Prequalification

There are restrictions on purchaser eligibility, use, and transfer of the marketable right. The Conservancy reserves the right to disqualify applicants who do not meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • The project must comply with TRPA Code.
  • All transfers are subject to all applicable government entity approval.
  • Complete applications are required (see below).

Timeline To Acquire Rights

Transactions generally take four to six months. Potential Residential Unit of Use escrows must be completed within six months. Extension fees are required to extend the escrow. Total transactions including escrow cannot exceed one year.

Conservancy Transaction Fees

Type of Transaction FeeJurisdictionPrice
Transaction FeeAll$800
Escrow FeeAll$200
California Environmental Quality Act Fee
(If applicable. See below.)
All$2,500

Application

Potential Residential Unit of Use Application
Submit a complete application and transaction fee via mail or in person to:

California Tahoe Conservancy
Attention: Land Bank Program
1061 Third Street
South Lake Tahoe, California 96150

Application must be complete at time of submittal. A complete application includes:

  • Grant Deed;
  • Site Plan must contain the following (if applicable):
    • Assessor’s Parcel Number
    • Bailey score
    • Area of property
    • Existing and Proposed Right/Unit
  • Copy of TRPA, City, or County permit application (if available);
  • TRPA allocation – City/El Dorado County – for new residential construction only.
    Placer County – applicant provides after permit issuance;
  • IPES/Bailey score (additional info requested, if applicable):
    • TRPA Determination of Allowable Coverage > 1/3 acre
    • TRPA Verification of new Placer County score if < 726
    • Bailey score – submit copy of verification or assessment;
  • $800 administrative transaction fee, made payable to the California Tahoe Conservancy (submit with application); and
  • $2,500 additional fee for projects requiring an environmental document, made payable to the California Tahoe Conservancy. (Submit with application, if applicable).

Contact

Consultation is available during the Land Bank Front Counter hours. The Land Bank front counter is open Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. and Thursdays from 8:00 a.m. to noon. You may also email questions to landbank@tahoe.ca.gov or call our main line at (530) 542-5580.

Contact the Conservancy for current terms and conditions. The Conservancy reserves the right to withdraw, postpone, or otherwise modify the provisions of this announcement prior to concluding any sale of rights.